Difference between revisions of "Proquota"

From Cncz
Jump to: navigation, search
(New page: Proquota Categorie: Software Categorie: Studenten Categorie: medewerkers)
 
m ([ProQuota, wat is dat?][ProQuota, what does it do ?])
 
(10 intermediate revisions by 4 users not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
Proquota
 
  
 +
== [ProQuota, wat is dat?][ProQuota, what does it do ?] ==
  
 +
[nl]
 +
Als je op een beheerde PC inlogt, worden vanaf de server je privé-instellingen (''Profile'') naar die PC gekopieerd.
 +
Gedurende de sessie worden op de PC deze gekopieerde instellingen gebruikt en veranderd als dat nodig is. Als je vervolgens uitlogt, worden de (veranderde) instellingen terug naar de server gekopieerd. Log je later in op een andere beheerde PC dan worden deze instellingen naar die nieuwe PC gekopieerd en heb je je eigen instellingen weer beschikbaar.
  
 +
ProQuota monitort de ruimte die je ''Profile'' op de disk inneemt.
 +
Omdat het kopiëren van het ''Profile'' tijd kost tijdens het in- en uitloggen en omdat de fysieke diskruimte beperkt is, is de hoeveelheid ''Profile'' ruimte beperkt.
  
Categorie: Software
+
Bedenk dat de backup software onderscheid maakt tussen de Home directories (H-schijf) en andere spullen, waarbij de Home directories voorrang krijgen. Zorg dus dat je belangrijke data altijd in je Home directory opslaat!
Categorie: Studenten
 
  
Categorie: medewerkers
+
Wat kun je doen als je een ProQuota melding krijgt:
 +
 
 +
* Voor Firefox en Thunderbird is het verstandig om ervoor te kiezen je gebruikersprofiel op te slaan in My Documents (= home directory = U-schijf)
 +
* Sla je documenten niet op op je desktop maar doe dat in je Home-directory.
 +
 
 +
 
 +
Verder lijkt het me een goed idee om een pagina te maken waar "profile" nog even wordt uitgelegd, welke mappen daar precies onder vallen en wat veilig is om te verwijderen als je je profile wilt opschonen. Daar kan dan ook het gedeelte "wat te doen bij ee proquota melding" bij.
 +
[/nl]
 +
[en]
 +
 
 +
When you log in on a managed PC, your private settings (''Profile'') of Windows and the applications are copied from the network to your current PC.
 +
During the session, these copied settings on the PC are used and changed if necessary. At logout, the (altered) settings are copied back to the network. When you log in, at a later point in time, on a different managed PC, these settings are copied to the new PC and your own settings are available again.
 +
You may locate these settings under <tt>C:\Documents and Settings\<loginname></tt>.
 +
 
 +
ProQuota monitors the space that your ''Profile'' takes on the disk.
 +
Bacause copying the ''Profile'' takes time during login and logout, and because the physical disk space is limited, the amount of disk space for ''Profile'' is limited.
 +
 
 +
Be aware that backup software discriminates between Home directories (important) and other data. Store, therefore, your important data in your Home directory.
 +
 
 +
What can you do in case you receive a Proquota message:
 +
 
 +
* For Firefox and Thunderbird it would be smart to save your user profile somewhere under 'My Documents' (= home directory = U:\ drive).
 +
* Store your documents in your Home directory and not on your desktop.
 +
 
 +
[/en]
 +
 
 +
 
 +
 
 +
 
 +
[[Categorie: Software]]
 +
[[Categorie: Studenten]]
 +
[[Categorie: medewerkers]]

Latest revision as of 11:41, 27 November 2018

ProQuota, what does it do ?

When you log in on a managed PC, your private settings (Profile) of Windows and the applications are copied from the network to your current PC. During the session, these copied settings on the PC are used and changed if necessary. At logout, the (altered) settings are copied back to the network. When you log in, at a later point in time, on a different managed PC, these settings are copied to the new PC and your own settings are available again. You may locate these settings under C:\Documents and Settings\<loginname>.

ProQuota monitors the space that your Profile takes on the disk. Bacause copying the Profile takes time during login and logout, and because the physical disk space is limited, the amount of disk space for Profile is limited.

Be aware that backup software discriminates between Home directories (important) and other data. Store, therefore, your important data in your Home directory.

What can you do in case you receive a Proquota message:

  • For Firefox and Thunderbird it would be smart to save your user profile somewhere under 'My Documents' (= home directory = U:\ drive).
  • Store your documents in your Home directory and not on your desktop.